Search this Blog


Thursday, February 21, 2013

A Krautrock Sampler

If you're not a Krautrock obsessed - already owning the originals discs - like yours truly, this could represents a cool compendium for the curious newbie...

Soul Jazz Records’ new Deutsche Electronische Musik 2 is our second voyage into the world of Krautrock and German electronic music from the 1970s and early 1980s.

 This double CD pack (with over 2 ½ hours of amazing music!) features a stunning line-up of seminal German groups: Can, Faust, Popul Vuh, Neu, Cluster, Amon Duul II, La Dusseldorf, as well as a host of lesser known and more obscure groups and artists such as Agitation Free, Broselmachine, Niagara and many more!

As well as the original pioneers, Deutsche Electronische Musik 2 also features many of the second wave of German electronic artists and groups from the late 70s and early 80s (DAF, Asmus Tietchens, Rolf Trostel) who successfully connected new wave, minimal synth and a European post-punk avant-gardism with the earlier more established Krautrock pioneers who began at the start of the 70s.

Influenced as much by the electronic experimentalism of Stockhausen, as the progressive rock of USA and UK underground rock, young German artists seamlessly created a new music with its own unique identity, which they ironically entitled Krautrock. By the end of the 1970s, with the arrival of new wave synthetics and complex drum machines this music had mutated once again into new electronic visions reflecting a new Germany. 

The double CD pack comes in classic Soul Jazz slipcase/2CD/book with large booklet and excellent extensive new sleevenotes (by David Stubbs, Guardian/Wire writer and author of the excellent recent Krautrock book) as well as lots of exclusive photos. 

The vinyl edition comes as limited-edition two volumes of heavyweight vinyl, super-loud, gatefold sleeve double-albums featuring all sleevenotes and text.


1.  A.R. & Machines - Globus  (2:57)
2.  Can - Halleluwah  (4:42)
3.  Roedelius - Le Jardin  (4:26)
4.  Michael Rother - Karussell  (5:22)
5.  Popol Vuh - Der Grosse Krieger (3:10)
6.  Michael Hoenig - Sun and Moon  (4:13)
7.  Agitation Free - You Play For Us Today (6:15)
8.  DAF - Co Co Pino (3:23)
9.  Harald Grosskopf - Emphasis (4:54)
10. Amon Düül II - A Morning Excuse (3:17)
11. Conrad Schnitzler & Wolf Sequenza - Fata Morgana (5:12)
12. Bröselmaschine - Nossa Bova (8:06)
13. Eno, Moebius & Roedelius - Base & Apex  (4:30)
14. Gila - In A Sacred Manner (4:41)
15. Wol fgang Riechmann - Himmelblau  (8:44)


1.  A.R. & Machines - Als Hätt Ich Das Alles Schon Mal Gesehen  (5:28)
2.  Gila - Sundance Chant (4:10)
3.  NEU! - Isi (5:00)
4.  Pyrolator - Danger Cruising  (3:15)
5.  Sergius Golowin - Die Weisse Alm  (5:55)
6.  You -  Electric Day (5:48)
7.  Niagara - Gibli   (5:26)
8.  Popol Vuh - Ja Sie Sollen Gottes Kinder Heissen Agnus Dei, Agnus Dei (2:42)
9.  Rolf Trostel - Der Prophet  (9:42)
10. Electric Sandwich - China (8:08)
11. Asmus Tietchens - Zeebrugge  (7:01)
12. Faust - Krautrock (11:47)

Deutsche Elektronische Musik:
"A near-definitive guide to some of the world's most extraordinary music." ***** The Guardian

No comments: